CITY OF EL PASO ACCESSIBILITY ADVISORY COMMITTEE (AAC)

June 23, 2022

MEETING MINUTES

1. Call to Order

Meeting was called to order at 2:30 pm. The following committee members answered to roll call:

District	Name	Present	Absent
Mayor	Camille Maldonado-Rivera		Χ
1	Marc Salazar	X	
2	Mayra Rodarte	X	
3	Michelle Adjemian	X	
4	Jose Martinez	X	
5	Beatriz Castorena-Mata		Χ
6	Phillip Thomas Laign	X	
7	Josue Rodriguez		Χ
8	Edmundo Rodriguez Jr.		Х

2. Approval of May 26, 2022 Minutes

Motion made by Committee Member Marc Salazar, seconded by Committee Member Phillip Thomas Laign, and unanimously carried to APPROVE the Minutes for the previous 5/26/22 AAC meeting.

3. Presentation, El Paso Zoo – Joe Montisano

4. AAC Chair Elections

Motion made by Committee Member Marc Salazar to nominate Phillip Thomas Laign for Chair, seconded by Jose Martinez, and unanimously approved to elect Philip Thomas Laign as Chair.

Motion made by Committee Member Jose Martinez, seconded by Marc Salazar to move the nomination of Vice Chair to the next AAC meeting.

5. Update on concerns regarding Westside Community Park – Maricruz Chavez

Accessibility (ADA) Coordinator, Maricruz Chavez, provided an update regarding Westside Community Park. Parks maintenance will be adding more material to walking paths for easier and safer travel for wheelchair users within the next two weeks. Sign will be installed to notify

wheelchair users that roll curb is not intended to be an accessible route. Walking paths will be properly maintained and brought back to code.

6. Discussion – Future Agenda Items

Committee Member Marc Salazar asked about having a report regarding bus stop updates; Maricruz Chavez has requested a report of completed projects to be discussed at a future meeting. Committee Member Michelle Adjemian proposed meeting in the evening on a quarterly basis.

7. Public Comment

8. Next AAC meeting scheduled for Thursday, July 28th, 2022

A motion was made by Committee Member Phillip Thomas Laign, seconded by Committee Member Michelle Adjemian, and unanimously approved to schedule the next meeting for July 28th, 2022.

9. Call to Adjourn meeting

A motion was made by Committee Member Philip Thomas Laign, seconded by Committee Member Mayra Rodarte, and unanimously approved to adjourn the meeting at 3:54 pm.