### Minutes Community Development Steering Committee Meeting Tuesday, March 24, 2020 - 5:30 p.m. Virtual meeting, for web access please contact Jenny Hernandez at <u>Hernandezj5@elpasotexas.gov</u>

#### Members Present

Jose Torres Deidra Pratt Fabiola Campos-Lopez Paul Andrew De La Peña <u>Members Absent</u> Chelsea Lynch

Frances Bernal Rene Hurtado Marianne Rosas Late Arrivals

#### **Early Departures**

#### Staff Present

Sarah Ortiz, Grant Project Manager Nicole Ferrini, Chief Resilience Officer, Community + Human Development Director Mark Weber, Community Development Planning Manager Jenny Hernandez, Grant Administrator Cynthia Gonzalez, Grant Administrator Morayma Morales, Grant Administrator Connie Jimenez, Grant Planner

### AGENDA

1. Discussion and Action on Steering Committee Absences – Deidra Pratt, Chairperson

2. Approval of Steering Committee Minutes of March 12, 2020 – Deidra Pratt, Chairperson

3. Presentation on 46th Year Emergency Solutions Grant (ESG) – Sarah Ortiz, Grant Project Manager.

4. Discussion and comment on 46th Year ESG Funding Recommendation.

5. Presentation on 46th Year Community Development Block Grant (CDBG) Children + Youth Public Service Program Category – Nicole Ferrini, Chief Resilience Officer, Community + Human Development Director.

6. Discussion and comment on 46th CDBG Children + Youth Public Service Program Funding Recommendation.

7. Call to the public.

8. Adjournment

### Item 1: Discussion and Action on Steering Committee Absences – Deidra Pratt, Chairperson

A motion was made by Jose, seconded by Fabiola Campos-Lopez and unanimously passed to excuse the absences of Rene and Marianne.

AYES: Paul Andrew De La Peña NAYS: None Absence: Frances Bernal, Chelsea Lynch, Marianne Rosas

### Item 2: Approval of Steering Committee Minutes from March 12, 2020- Deidra Pratt, Chairperson

A motion was made by, Jose Torres seconded by Chelsea Lynch and unanimously passed to approve the Steering Committee Minutes from March 12, 2020

AYES: Paul Andrew De La Peña Fabiola Lopez NAYS: None Absence: Frances Bernal, Chelsea Lynch, Marianne Rosas

# Item 3: Presentation on 46th Year Emergency Solutions Grant (ESG) – Sarah Ortiz, Grant Project Manager.

### Item 4: Discussion and comment on 46th Year ESG Funding Recommendation.

A motion was made by Fabiola Lopez seconded by Paul Andrew and unanimously passed to approve staff recommendations for 46<sup>th</sup> year (2020-2021) ESG Funding Recommendation.

AYES: Paul Andrew De La Peña, NAYS: None Absence: Frances Bernal, Chelsea Lynch, Marianne Rosas

Item 5: Presentation on 46th Year Community Development Block Grant (CDBG) Children + Youth Public Service Program Category – Nicole Ferrini, Chief Resilience Officer, Community + Human Development Director.

# Item 6: Discussion and comment on 46th CDBG Children + Youth Public Service Program Funding Recommendation.

A motion was made by Paul Andrew Del La Pena, seconded by Fabiola Lopez and unanimously passed to approve staff recommendations for 46th CDBG Children + Youth Public Service Program Funding Recommendation.

AYES: Paul Andrew De La Peña NAYS: None Absence: Frances Bernal, Chelsea Lynch, Marianne Rosas

Item 7: Call to the public.

Item 8: Adjournment The meeting was adjourned at 7:30 PM