Minutes

Community Development Steering Committee Meeting Two Civic Center Plaza 8th Floor Conference Room Wednesday, August 17, 2011

There being a quorum, Annette Stone called the meeting to order at 5:36 p.m.

Members Present

Hector Arellano Peg Booker Karl Heimer Joyce Palmer Annette Stone Sudy Todd

Members Absent

Trinidad Acevedo Moises Rodriguez

Late Arrivals

Laura Calvillo Neill (5:43 p.m.)

Early Departures

None

Staff Present

Anthony Shaar, Deputy Director Tom Serrano, Senior Grant Planner Connie Jimenez, Grant Planner Patricia White, Housing Program Manager Rhoda Tillman, CDBG Contracts Administrator Natalie Nevarez-Straight, Senior Grant Planner Roxanne Varela, Grant Planner Kevin Pitts, Grant Planner

AGENDA

Discussion and Action on:

- 1. Discussion and Action on Steering Committee Absences Annette Stone, Chairperson
- 2. Approval of Steering Committee Minutes of May 25, 2011 Annette Stone, Chairperson
- 3. Discussion and Recommendation on Overall Policies and Procedures for the Planning Process for the 38th Year (2012-2013) Community Development Block Grant (CDBG) Program, the 2012-2013 Emergency Solutions Grant (ESG) Program and the 2012-2013 Housing Opportunities for Persons with AIDS (HOPWA) Program
- 4. Citizen Comments on Agenda Items
- 5. Adjournment

Item 1: Steering Committee Absences

A motion was made by Peg Booker, seconded by Karl Heimer, to excuse Trini Acevedo and Moises Rodriguez, and unanimously passed.

AYES: Mr. Arellano, Ms. Booker, Mr. Heimer, Ms. Palmer and Ms. Todd

NAYS: None

ABSENT: Mr. Acevedo, Ms. Neill and Mr. Rodriguez

Item 2: Approval of Steering Committee Minutes of May 25, 2011

A Motion was made by Sudy Todd, seconded by Joyce Palmer, and unanimously carried to approve the minutes.

AYES: Mr. Arellano, Ms. Booker, Mr. Heimer, Ms. Palmer and Ms. Todd

NAYS: None

ABSENT: Mr. Acevedo, Ms. Neill and Mr. Rodriguez

Item 3: Discussion and Recommendation on Overall Policies and Procedures for the Planning Process for the 38th Year (2012-2013) Community Development Block Grant (CDBG) Program, the 2012-2013 Emergency Solutions Grant (ESG) Program and the 2012-2013 Housing Opportunities for Persons with AIDS (HOPWA) Program

A Motion was made by Karl Heimer, seconded by Peg Booker, and unanimously carried to accept the overall policies and procedures as presented.

AYES: Mr. Arellano, Ms. Booker, Mr. Heimer, Ms. Neill, Ms. Palmer and Ms. Todd

NAYS: None

ABSENT: Mr. Acevedo and Mr. Rodriguez

Item 4: Citizen Comments on Agenda Items

Item 5: Adjournment

The meeting was adjourned at 7:17 p.m.