

Planning and Inspections

MAYOR Oscar Leeser

CITY COUNCIL

District 1 Peter Svarzbein

District 2 Alexsandra Annello

District 3 Cassandra Hernandez

District 4 Joe Molinar

District 5 Isabel Salcido

District 6 Claudia L. Rodriguez

District 7 Henry Rivera

District 8 Cissy Lizarraga

CITY MANAGER Tommy Gonzalez

OPEN SPACE ADVISORY BOARD

WEDNESDAY, FEBRUARY 2, 2022, 3:00 P.M. COUNCIL CHAMBERS CITY HALL, 300 N. CAMPBELL AND VIRTUALLY

THE LOCAL HEALTH AUTHORITY STRONGLY RECOMMENDS THE USE OF MASKS IN ALL CITY FACILITIES AND INDOOR SPACES

Notice is hereby given that a Meeting of the Open Space Advisory Board will be conducted at the above date and time.

Members of the public may view the meeting via the following means: Via the City's website. <u>http://www.elpasotexas.gov/videos</u>

Members of the public are encouraged to participate virtually by calling: 1 915-213-4096

At the prompt please enter the Conference ID: 872 148 683#

A quorum of the Open Space Advisory Board must participate in the meeting:

Stephen Tures, Mark Wancho, Alyssa Cervantes-Benavides, Joe Garibay, Yvonne Cacho, Dr. Sharon Miles-Bonart, Isela Castanon-Williams, Sarah Elena Dillabough, Romaree Friedman Herbert

Meeting called to order

Board Duties: The Open Space Advisory Board shall act as an advisory board and provide recommendations to the City Council in efforts to preserve and acquire open space as identified in the Towards a Bright Future: A Green Infrastructure Plan for El Paso, Texas, commonly referred to as the open space master plan. The Open Space Advisory Board shall provide recommendations on the implementation of the open space master plan.

Time Limits for Information Presentations: There is a 15-minute time limit for presentations, with additional time granted at the discretion of the presiding officer. This limitation is applicable only to the presentation itself and does not include discussion and action elements of an item.

Philip F. Etiwe, Director

Planning and Inspections Department | 801 Texas Ave. | El Paso, TX 79901 Office: (915) 212-0104 | FAX: (915) 212-0084





Planning and Inspections

1. Discussion and Action: Changes to the Agenda

REGULAR AGENDA

- 2. Call to the Public (items not listed on the Agenda): Members of the public will be allowed 3 minutes to present, with additional time granted at the discretion of the presiding officer.
- 3. Discussion and Action: Modification of meeting location to allow for the Open Space Advisory Board to meet virtually Contact: Kevin Smith, SmithKW@elpasotexas.gov
- 4. Discussion and Action: Review and update on the placement of a conservation easement on the 1,200 acres of land west of Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd. in northeast El Paso. Contact: Karina Brasgalla, BrasgallaKX@elpasotexas.gov
- 5. Information, Discussion, and Action: Quarterly Presentation of Open Space Advisory Board motions report.
 - Contact: Kevin Smith, SmithKW@elpasotexas.gov
- 6. Discussion and Action: Recommendation to City of El Paso regarding Open Space Management position Contact: Joe Garibay, Open Space Advisory Board

CLOSED SESSION

The Open Space Advisory Board of the City of El Paso may retire into CLOSED SESSION pursuant to Section 3.5A of the El Paso City Charter and the Texas Government Code, Chapter 551, Subchapter D, to discuss any of the items on this agenda, consistent with the terms of the Open Meetings Act. The Open Space Advisory Board will return to open session to take any final action.

SECTION 551.071 CONSULTATION WITH ATTORNEY SECTION 551.072 DELIBERATION REGARDING REAL PROPERTY SECTION 551.073 DELIBERATION REGARDING PROSPECTIVE GIFTS SECTION 551.074 PERSONNEL MATTERS SECTION 551.076 DELIBERATION REGARDING SECURITY DEVICES SECTION 551.087 DELIBERATION REGARDING ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT NEGOTIATIONS

Philip F. Etiwe, Director

Planning and Inspections Department | 801 Texas Ave. | El Paso, TX 79901 Office: (915) 212-0104 | FAX: (915) 212-0084



MAYOR Oscar Leeser

CITY COUNCIL

District 1 Peter Svarzbein

District 2 Alexsandra Annello

District 3 Cassandra Hernandez

District 4 Joe Molinar

District 5 Isabel Salcido

District 6 Claudia L. Rodriguez

District 7 Henry Rivera

District 8 Cissy Lizarraga

CITY MANAGER Tommy Gonzalez



Planning and Inspections

MAYOR Oscar Leeser

7. Discussion: Identify items for future agendas.

8. Adjournment

CITY COUNCIL

District 1 Peter Svarzbein

District 2 Alexsandra Annello

District 3 Cassandra Hernandez

District 4 Joe Molinar

District 5 Isabel Salcido

District 6 Claudia L. Rodriguez

District 7 Henry Rivera

District 8 Cissy Lizarraga

CITY MANAGER

Tommy Gonzalez

PUBLIC NOTICE

Sign language interpreters will be provided for this hearing upon request. Requests must be made to the Planning and Inspections Department, Planning Division, a minimum of 24 hours prior to the date and time of this hearing. Copies of this agenda will be provided in Braille, large print or audiotape upon request. Requests must be made to the Planning and Inspections Department, Planning Division, a minimum of 48 hours prior to the date and time of this hearing.

Posted this 28th day of January, 2022 by Kevin Smith

Philip F. Etiwe, Director

Planning and Inspections Department | 801 Texas Ave. | El Paso, TX 79901 Office: (915) 212-0104 | FAX: (915) 212-0084

