

Planning and Inspections

MAYOR Oscar Leeser	OPEN SPACE ADVISORY BOARD WEDNESDAY, MARCH 2, 2022, 3:00 P.M. VIRTUAL MEETING
CITY COUNCIL	Notice is hereby given that a Meeting of the Open Space Advisory Board will be conducted virtually at the above date and time.
District 1 Peter Svarzbein	Members of the public may view the meeting via the following means:
District 2 Alexsandra Annello	Via the City's website. <u>http://www.elpasotexas.gov/videos</u>
District 3 Cassandra Hernandez	In compliance with the requirement that the City provide two-way communication for members of the public, members of the public may communicate with the Board during public comment and regarding agenda items by calling the following number:
District 4 Joe Molinar	1 915-213-4096
District 5 Isabel Salcido	At the prompt please enter the Conference ID: 763 848 691#
District 6 Claudia L. Rodriguez	The following members of the Open Space Advisory Board will be present via video conference:
District 7 Henry Rivera	Stephen Tures, Mark Wancho, Alyssa Cervantes-Benavides, Joe Garibay, Yvonne Cacho, Dr. Sharon Miles-Bonart, Isela Castanon-Williams, Sarah Elena Dillabough, Romaree Friedman Herbert
District 8 Cissy Lizarraga	A quorum of the Open Space Advisory Board must participate in the meeting.
CITY MANAGER	Recording of the meeting will begin prior to be called to order
Tommy Gonzalez	Meeting called to order

Board Duties: The Open Space Advisory Board shall act as an advisory board and provide recommendations to the City Council in efforts to preserve and acquire open space as identified in the Towards a Bright Future: A Green Infrastructure Plan for El Paso, Texas, commonly referred to as the open space master plan. The Open Space Advisory Board shall provide recommendations on the implementation of the open space master plan.

Time Limits for Information Presentations: There is a 15-minute time limit for presentations, with additional time granted at the discretion of the presiding officer. This limitation is applicable only to the presentation itself and does not include discussion and action elements of an item.

Philip F. Etiwe, Director

Planning and Inspections Department | 801 Texas Ave. | El Paso, TX 79901 Office: (915) 212-0104 | FAX: (915) 212-0084





Planning and Inspections

1. Discussion and Action: Changes to the Agenda 2. Call to the Public (items not listed on the Agenda): Members of the public will be allowed 3 minutes to present, with additional time granted at the discretion of the presiding officer. 3. Discussion and Action: Minutes for the January 11, 2022 and February 2, 2022 Open Space Advisory Board meetings. Contact: Kevin Smith, SmithKW@elpasotexas.gov

4. Discussion and Action: Discussion on recommendation to City of El Paso regarding Open Space Management position Contact: Joe Garibay, Open Space Advisory Board

- 5. Discussion and Action: Overview of the agreement terms related to the 1,200 acres of land west of Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd. in northeast El Paso Contact: Michaela Grambling, MGrambling@epwater.org
- 6. Discussion and Action: Update on the Bowen lease in northeast El Paso Contact: James Wolff, JWolff@epwater.org
- 7. Information and Discussion: El Paso Water (EPWater) Quarterly financial report on 10% annual drainage utility fee revenue and expenses. Contact: Rocio Alvarado, RPAlvarado@epwater.org

CLOSED SESSION

The following members of the Open Space Advisory Board will be present via video conference:

Stephen Tures, Mark Wancho, Alyssa Cervantes-Benavides, Joe Garibay, Yvonne Cacho, Dr. Sharon Miles-Bonart, Isela Castanon-Williams, Sarah Elena Dillabough, **Romaree Friedman Herbert**

The Open Space Advisory Board of the City of El Paso may retire into CLOSED SESSION pursuant to Section 3.5A of the El Paso City Charter and the Texas Government Code, Chapter 551, Subchapter D, to discuss any of the items on this agenda, consistent with the terms of the Open Meetings Act. The Open Space Advisory Board will return to open session to take any final action.

Philip F. Etiwe, Director

Planning and Inspections Department | 801 Texas Ave. | El Paso, TX 79901 Office: (915) 212-0104 | FAX: (915) 212-0084



REGULAR AGENDA

MAYOR Oscar Leeser

CITY COUNCIL

District 1 Peter Svarzbein

District 2 Alexsandra Annello

District 3 Cassandra Hernandez

District 4 Joe Molinar

District 5 Isabel Salcido

District 6 Claudia L. Rodriguez

District 7 Henry Rivera

District 8 Cissy Lizarraga

CITY MANAGER Tommy Gonzalez



Planning and Inspections

MAYOR Oscar Leeser

CITY COUNCIL

District 1 Peter Svarzbein

District 2 Alexsandra Annello

District 3 Cassandra Hernandez

District 4 Joe Molinar

District 5 Isabel Salcido

District 6 Claudia L. Rodriguez

District 7 Henry Rivera

District 8 Cissy Lizarraga

CITY MANAGER

Tommy Gonzalez

SECTION 551.071 CONSULTATION WITH ATTORNEY SECTION 551.072 DELIBERATION REGARDING REAL PROPERTY SECTION 551.073 DELIBERATION REGARDING PROSPECTIVE GIFTS SECTION 551.074 PERSONNEL MATTERS SECTION 551.076 DELIBERATION REGARDING SECURITY DEVICES SECTION 551.087 DELIBERATION REGARDING ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT NEGOTIATIONS

8. Discussion: Identify items for future agendas.

9. Adjournment

PUBLIC NOTICE

Sign language interpreters will be provided for this hearing upon request. Requests must be made to the Planning and Inspections Department, Planning Division, a minimum of 24 hours prior to the date and time of this hearing. Copies of this agenda will be provided in Braille, large print or audiotape upon request. Requests must be made to the Planning and Inspections Department, Planning Division, a minimum of 48 hours prior to the date and time of this hearing.

Posted this 25th day of February, 2022 by Kevin Smith

Planning and Inspections Department | 801 Texas Ave. | El Paso, TX 79901 Office: (915) 212-0104 | FAX: (915) 212-0084

