

# Planning and Inspections

## **OPEN SPACE ADVISORY BOARD**

Wednesday, June 8, 2022, 3:00 P.M. VIRTUAL MEETING

#### **MAYOR**

Oscar Leeser

## CITY COUNCIL

District 1

Peter Svarzbein

District 2

Alexsandra Annello

District 3

Cassandra Hernandez

District 4

Joe Molinar

District 5

Isabel Salcido

District 6

Claudia L. Rodriguez

District 7

Henry Rivera

District 8

Cissy Lizarraga

**CITY MANAGER** 

Tommy Gonzalez

Notice is hereby given that a Meeting of the Open Space Advisory Board will be conducted virtually at the above date and time.

Members of the public may view the meeting via the following means:

Via the City's website. <a href="http://www.elpasotexas.gov/videos">http://www.elpasotexas.gov/videos</a>

In compliance with the requirement that the City provide two-way communication for members of the public, members of the public may communicate with the Board during public comment and regarding agenda items by calling the following number:

1 915-213-4096

At the prompt please enter the Conference ID: 437 967 19#

The following members of the Open Space Advisory Board will be present via video conference:

Stephen Tures, Mark Wancho, Alyssa Cervantes-Benavides, Joe Garibay, Yvonne Cacho, Dr. Sharon Miles-Bonart, Isela Castanon-Williams, Sarah Elena Dillabough, Romaree Friedman Herbert

A quorum of the Open Space Advisory Board must participate in the meeting.

Recording of the meeting will begin prior to be called to order

## Meeting called to order

**Board Duties:** The Open Space Advisory Board shall act as an advisory board and provide recommendations to the City Council in efforts to preserve and acquire open space as identified in the Towards a Bright Future: A Green Infrastructure Plan for El Paso, Texas, commonly referred to as the open space master plan. The Open Space Advisory Board shall provide recommendations on the implementation of the open space master plan.

**Time Limits for Information Presentations:** There is a 15-minute time limit for presentations, with additional time granted at the discretion of the presiding officer. This limitation is applicable only to the presentation itself and does not include discussion and action elements of an item.

Philip F. Etiwe, Director

Planning and Inspections Department | 801 Texas Ave. | El Paso, TX 79901 Office: (915) 212-0104 | FAX: (915) 212-0084





# Planning and Inspections

#### **MAYOR**

Oscar Leeser

## **CITY COUNCIL**

#### District 1

Peter Svarzbein

#### District 2

Alexsandra Annello

### District 3

Cassandra Hernandez

### District 4

Joe Molinar

#### District 5

Isabel Salcido

#### District 6

Claudia L. Rodriguez

#### **District 7**

Henry Rivera

# District 8

Cissy Lizarraga

# **CITY MANAGER**

Tommy Gonzalez

# **REGULAR AGENDA**

- 1. Discussion and Action: Changes to the Agenda
- 2. Call to the Public (items not listed on the Agenda): Members of the public will be allowed 3 minutes to present, with additional time granted at the discretion of the presiding officer.
- **3. Discussion and Action:** Minutes for the May 11, 2022 Open Space Advisory Board meeting

Contact: Kevin Smith, Planning and Inspections, smithkw@elpasotexas.gov

**4. Information and Discussion:** Council action of naming of the Lost Dog and Knapp Land

Contact: Joe Garibay, Open Space Advisory Board

**5. Information, Discussion, and Action:** Cost to acquire the Northeast land, its appraised value, and if the proposal is in line with what was presented to the Open Space Advisory Board in 2021

Contact: Joe Garibay, Open Space Advisory Board

**6. Information and Discussion:** Update over recent maintenance activity at Billy Rogers Arroyo

**Contact:** Joel McKnight, Streets and Maintenance, <a href="McKnightJW@elpasotexas.gov">McKnightJW@elpasotexas.gov</a> and Emigdio Gonzalez, Streets and Maintenance, <a href="GonzalezEX5@elpasotexas.gov">GonzalezEX5@elpasotexas.gov</a>

Information and Discussion: Update on Bowen lease and access roadway to Roundhouse Trailhead

Contact: Alex Vidales, El Paso Water, AVidales@epwater.org

**8. Information and Discussion:** El Paso Water (EPWater) Quarterly financial report on 10% annual drainage utility fee revenue and expenses.

Contact: Rocio Alvarado, El Paso Water, <a href="mailto:RPAlvarado@epwater.org">RPAlvarado@epwater.org</a>

**9. Information, Discussion, and Action:** Amend OSAB Bylaws: Article XI - Agenda, Section 1 - Placing Items on Agenda

Contact: Dr. Sharon Miles-Bonart, Open Space Advisory Board

## **CLOSED SESSION**

The following members of the Open Space Advisory Board will be present via video conference:

## Philip F. Etiwe, Director

Planning and Inspections Department | 801 Texas Ave. | El Paso, TX 79901 Office: (915) 212-0104 | FAX: (915) 212-0084





# Planning and Inspections

**MAYOR** 

Oscar Leeser

**CITY COUNCIL** 

District 1

Peter Svarzbein

District 2

Alexsandra Annello

District 3

Cassandra Hernandez

District 4

Joe Molinar

District 5

Isabel Salcido

District 6

Claudia L. Rodriguez

District 7

Henry Rivera

District 8

Cissy Lizarraga

**CITY MANAGER** 

Tommy Gonzalez

Stephen Tures, Mark Wancho, Alyssa Cervantes-Benavides, Joe Garibay, Yvonne Cacho, Dr. Sharon Miles-Bonart, Isela Castanon-Williams, Sarah Elena Dillabough, Romaree Friedman Herbert

The Open Space Advisory Board of the City of El Paso may retire into CLOSED SESSION pursuant to Section 3.5A of the El Paso City Charter and the Texas Government Code, Chapter 551, Subchapter D, to discuss any of the items on this agenda, consistent with the terms of the Open Meetings Act. The Open Space Advisory Board will return to open session to take any final action.

SECTION 551.071 CONSULTATION WITH ATTORNEY

SECTION 551.072 DELIBERATION REGARDING REAL PROPERTY

SECTION 551.073 DELIBERATION REGARDING PROSPECTIVE GIFTS

SECTION 551.074 PERSONNEL MATTERS

SECTION 551.076 DELIBERATION REGARDING SECURITY DEVICES

SECTION 551.087 DELIBERATION REGARDING ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT

**NEGOTIATIONS** 

10. Discussion: Identify items for future agendas.

11. Adjournment

## **PUBLIC NOTICE**

Sign language interpreters will be provided for this hearing upon request. Requests must be made to the Planning and Inspections Department, Planning Division, a minimum of 24 hours prior to the date and time of this hearing. Copies of this agenda will be provided in Braille, large print or audiotape upon request. Requests must be made to the Planning and Inspections Department, Planning Division, a minimum of 48 hours prior to the date and time of this hearing.

Posted this 3<sup>rd</sup> day of June, 2022 by Kevin Smith

Philip F. Etiwe, Director

Planning and Inspections Department | 801 Texas Ave. | El Paso, TX 79901 Office: (915) 212-0104 | FAX: (915) 212-0084

